Browse Source

seq_file: add function to write binary data

seq_write() can be used to construct seq_files containing arbitrary data.
Required by the gcov-profiling interface to synthesize binary profiling
data files.

Signed-off-by: Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Li Wei <W.Li@Sun.COM>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <michaele@au1.ibm.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heicars2@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <mschwid2@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: WANG Cong <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com>
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
master
Peter Oberparleiter 13 years ago
committed by Linus Torvalds
parent
commit
0b923606e7
  1. 20
      fs/seq_file.c
  2. 1
      include/linux/seq_file.h

20
fs/seq_file.c

@ -640,6 +640,26 @@ int seq_puts(struct seq_file *m, const char *s)
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(seq_puts);
/**
* seq_write - write arbitrary data to buffer
* @seq: seq_file identifying the buffer to which data should be written
* @data: data address
* @len: number of bytes
*
* Return 0 on success, non-zero otherwise.
*/
int seq_write(struct seq_file *seq, const void *data, size_t len)
{
if (seq->count + len < seq->size) {
memcpy(seq->buf + seq->count, data, len);
seq->count += len;
return 0;
}
seq->count = seq->size;
return -1;
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(seq_write);
struct list_head *seq_list_start(struct list_head *head, loff_t pos)
{
struct list_head *lh;

1
include/linux/seq_file.h

@ -43,6 +43,7 @@ int seq_release(struct inode *, struct file *);
int seq_escape(struct seq_file *, const char *, const char *);
int seq_putc(struct seq_file *m, char c);
int seq_puts(struct seq_file *m, const char *s);
int seq_write(struct seq_file *seq, const void *data, size_t len);
int seq_printf(struct seq_file *, const char *, ...)
__attribute__ ((format (printf,2,3)));

Loading…
Cancel
Save